How to Remove an Unwanted Post on Facebook by a Facebook Application

by Wendy Chamberlain on May 3, 2011

Already using Facebook? Follow Wendy Chamberlain for the latest about the platform’s new features, tips and tricks as well as social media updates.

Facebook provides users with many applications that can help them in connecting with people online.

These include the applications beneficial to businesses in promoting their companies and offerings on this popular social media platform along with games regular users can play during for a bit of fun.

Unfortunately, many of these game applications are just plain annoying for business owners wanting to establish a professional image on their Facebook pages.

What usually happens is a Facebook friend will involve his or her entire list of friends in the games they play, resulting in the application being added to your Facebook profile page.

The good news is that Facebook users, page owners and their administrators have the capacity to delete unwanted posts by certain game applications.  And it only takes a few mouse clicks.

Step One

Find the application you wish to remove on your wall.  Move your mouse to the right and hover.  On the right most part of that post, a small grey X will appear.

Step Two

Click on the X and it will then give you two options – simply remove the post or remove the post AND block the application.

Removing the post will mean deleting that particular post from your wall. However, it can still appear on your profile or business page in the future.

If you no longer want that application to show on your wall any time in the future, you have to select the block action.

Once you click it, you will be asked to confirm your action of blocking the application. To proceed, just click the Block button and you will never see that application again.

Unfortunately, if you have allowed people to post to your Facebook ball, as a Facebook user you do not have the ability to pre-approve posts before they get added to your wall.  But once a post is made, you can control someone posting a second time and remove unwanted posts.

How to Adjust Your Facebook Privacy Settings

Sick of people posting on your wall?  If you don’t want people to post on your wall, you can adjust your privacy settings.

Select privacy settings in the Account drop down menu at the top right hand of your profile page and choose Customize Settings located in the Sharing on Facebook area. You can then look for the “Things others share” section and uncheck the box that says “Friends can post to my wall” option.

Just remember though, social media is all about the “social” so locking down your wall may stop applications being posted, but it will also stifle the conversation too.

Enjoy this post?

Consider using the Social Sharing buttons below to share this post on your favourite social networking sites.

By Wendy Chamberlain
Copyright 2011 Savvy Web Women Pty Ltd

how to add a pdf to your facebook fan page

WANT TO USE THIS ARTICLE?

You can as long as you include the following (links must be active):

Wendy Chamberlain is the founder of www.savvywebwomen.com and creator of the Savvy List Building Blog – the information packed resource that shows business owners and entrepreneurs how to get in front of an audience that wants to buy what they are selling. To receive your FREE Special Report and weekly how-to articles to expand your online List Building toolkit, visit www.wendymoore.net.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

{ 5 comments… read them below or add one }

Leave a Comment

CommentLuv badge

Previous post:

Next post: