How to Remove a Connection in LinkedIn

Post image for How to Remove a Connection in LinkedIn

by Wendy Chamberlain on July 5, 2011

Already using LinkedIn? Connect with Wendy Moore for the latest about the platform’s new features, tips and tricks as well as social media updates.

Establishing connections with like-minded people is one of the main objectives of social media sites.

LinkedIn focuses more on business professionals in various industries than the more social side of other social networking sites. LinkedIn lets users connect with people in the same industry, allows employers to search for potential employees and at the same time lets job hunters search for potential employers and jobs that match their skills.

LinkedIn allows users to increase their list of connections over the years. However, as time passes, you may find that some of the people you originally connected with in your network no longer benefit what you are looking to achieve or are not relevant to your current business.

For this reason, you may want to edit your list but may not be sure how to do it.

LinkedIn allows its members to remove people from their connection list as they choose. There are simple steps to follow that will only take a few minutes.

How to Remove a LinkedIn Connection

The first step is to log into your account and go to Contacts.  Then select My Connections and you will be directed to your list.

On the upper right hand, you will see two options – Add Connections and Remove Connections. Since you want to remove people from your list, click on Remove Connections.

On the new page shown, select the person or people you would like to remove.

Simply tick the box beside the name and they will instantly show on the right side. Once you’re done selecting, just click on the Remove Connections button on the right side.

Following your action, a confirmation box will appear asking you if you’re sure about removing the person or people from your list.

If you wish to proceed, click the Confirm button.  If you’ve changed your mind, simply hit cancel.

When you remove a person from your list, the person is not told.  LinkedIn does not send notifications to the people you have edited.

If, however, you decide later to add some people back into your list of contacts, you can always invite them again to your network in LinkedIn.

By Wendy Moore
Copyright 2011 Savvy Web Women Pty Ltd

WANT TO USE THIS ARTICLE?

You can as long as you include the following (links must be active):

Wendy Moore is the founder of www.savvywebwomen.com and creator of the Savvy List Building Blog – the information packed resource that shows business owners and entrepreneurs how to get in front of an audience that wants to buy what they are selling. To receive your FREE Special Report and weekly how-to articles to expand your online List Building toolkit, visit www.wendymoore.net.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

{ 0 comments… add one now }

Leave a Comment

CommentLuv badge

Previous post:

Next post: