Post image for How to Stop Facebook from Tagging You in a Photo or Post

How to Stop Facebook from Tagging You in a Photo or Post

by Wendy Chamberlain on June 9, 2013

Already using Facebook? Follow Wendy Chamberlain for the latest about the platform’s new features, tips and tricks as well as social media updates.

Facebook remains to be among the top photo sharing sites. Each day, millions of photos are posted by users from the different parts of the world.

It’s also fairly easy for Facebook users to tag friends in their photos. Unfortunately, you may not wish to be constantly tagged in photos.

Not to worry because there are ways to stop people from tagging you. The steps previously outlined in our older post are now out of date, due to updates by Facebook. Read on to discover how to untag yourself now.

How to Untag yourself from a Facebook Photo

To immediately remove the tag, first click the photo you’re tagged in. Look for the Options at the bottom of the image and click Remove tag.

Click Image to Enlarge

Click Image to Enlarge

You will then be shown two options with a box beside each – I want to untag myself or I want this photo removed from Facebook.

For just removing the tag, click the “I want to untag myself or remove this tag” option, then continue.

Click Image to Enlarge

Click Image to Enlarge

Next, click the option Remove tag created by the person (name provided) who tagged you in the photo and hit the continue button.

Click Image to Enlarge

Click Image to Enlarge

You will then be untagged from the photo.

Untag from Account Settings to avoid being tagged in a Facebook photo

Another way to avoid being tagged in photos is to do it via your account settings.

On the top right hand corner of your Timeline, click the cog symbol and go to Account Settings.

On the next page on the left column, click Timeline and Tagging.

Click Image to Enlarge

Click Image to Enlarge

Once you’re on the Timeline and Tagging Settings page, check the topmost section that says “Who can add things to my timeline?” and click Edit on the rightmost part of the section that says Review posts friends tag you in before they appear on your timeline?

Click Image to Enlarge

Click Image to Enlarge

On the section that opens, click the down arrow on the button that says Disabled and choose Enable.

This way, every photo or post you’re tagged in will have to be reviewed and approved by you first before they appear on your Timeline.

On the bottom portion that says “How can I manage tags people add and tagging suggestions?” click Edit to the right of the line that says Review tags people add to your own posts before the tags appear on Facebook.

Then choose to Enable it if it’s disabled. Any post or photo you’re tagged in will need your approval first before it appears on your Timeline.

Click Image to Enlarge

Click Image to Enlarge

Then you’re done. You’ll now have control over people tagging you in photos and know how to remove tags on photos you do not wish to be identified in.

Do you like people to tag you in photos? Leave a comment below.

Enjoyed this post?

Consider using the social sharing button below to share this post on your favourite social networking sites.

By Wendy Chamberlain
Copyright 2013 Savvy Web Women Pty Ltd

WANT TO USE THIS ARTICLE?

You can as long as you include the following (links must be active):

Wendy Chamberlain is the founder of www.savvywebwomen.com and creator of the Savvy Online Engagement Blog – the information packed resource that shows business owners and entrepreneurs how to use online strategies to connect with key stakeholders, influence decision makers and be seen as a thought leader, all via the use of social media. To receive your FREE Special Report and how-to articles to expand your Online Engagement toolkit, visit www.wendymoore.net.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

{ 4 comments… read them below or add one }

Leave a Comment

CommentLuv badge

{ 1 trackback }

Previous post:

Next post: