Facebook remains a top social networking site based on global reach and total active users. As of the third quarter of 2014, its number of active users has reached 1.35 billion.
The platform has made big leaps since it launched 10 years ago and has allowed users to create multiple accounts and business pages. If you’re one of those with more than one account on Facebook, it might be a good idea to maintain only a single account as you start the new year. This way, your followers won’t get confused and they will get to know you better.
As a Facebook user, you have two options when it comes to managing personal accounts. You can deactivate it or your can delete it permanently.
How to Deactivate a Facebook Account
Deactivating an account means you can still restore it at a later time. This feature allows you to hide your other account temporarily.
To do this, click the account menu at the top right of your Facebook page then select Settings from the drop down menu.
On the General Account Settings page, click Security on the left column.
While on the Security Settings page, click the Deactivate your account link on the bottom. Then make sure to follow all the steps to confirm.
Once you have clicked the Deactivate your account link, you will directed to a new page with various options. You need to give a reason as to why you want to deactivate the account and other actions you’d like done. You can also choose when you would like to restore your account. Click confirm if you’ve made your choices.
When you deactivate your account, your profile will not be seen by other people on Facebook. Also, people won’t be able to search for you but your messages to friends may still be seen.
You can reactivate it any time you want by simply logging in with your email and password. After you log in, your full profile will be restored automatically. Remember to keep a list of your email and password for that account you want to deactivate because you will need them when you restore it later on.
Deleting an account, on the other hand, means all your content (personal details, friends, etc.) will be removed permanently. This means you will not be given an option to reactivate it or retrieve any of your information.
Learn the steps to permanently delete a Facebook account in my next blog post.
Enjoyed this post?
Consider using the social sharing button below to share this post on your favourite social networking sites.
By Wendy Chamberlain
Copyright 2015 Savvy Web Women Pty Ltd
WANT TO USE THIS ARTICLE?
You can as long as you include the following (links must be active):
Wendy Chamberlain is the founder of www.savvywebwomen.com and creator of the Savvy Online Engagement Blog – the information packed resource that shows business owners and entrepreneurs how to use online strategies to connect with key stakeholders, influence decision makers and be seen as a thought leader, all via the use of social media. To receive your FREE Special Report and how-to articles to expand your Online Engagement toolkit, visit www.wendymoore.net.
Tagged as: deactivate a Facebook account, deleting an account on Facebook, how to deactivate a Facebook account, manage multiple Facebook accounts, permanently delete a Facebook account, Social Media, Wendy Chamberlain