Facebook users continue to grow but at the same time, some are no longer happy with the platform that they decided to remove their accounts for good. Any user is free to do so but you need to learn the proper steps to ensure that all your information is removed from the site.
Facebook offers its users two options with regards to their personal accounts. They can simply deactivate their account or permanently delete it. Deactivating an account means you can still restore it at a later time while deleting an account means everything attached to your profile including photos will be removed from the site permanently.
Take note, however, that it will take 90 days before your account will be removed from Facebook for good. While this process is being undertaken, your information will no longer be accessed by people using the platform.
How to Delete an Account on Facebook
The very first thing you need to do before you delete your personal Facebook profile is to save your data. If you’ve been using the platform for years, it will be worth your time to save all your data posted on the site. You don’t have to manually do this, though, because Facebook makes it easy for you.
On your profile page, click that small down arrow on the top right and choose Settings. While on your General Account Settings page, you will see below a link that says Download a copy of your Facebook data. Click the link to retrieve all your information and then save it on your computer or mobile device. This will be your backup as you will no longer have access to it once you delete your Facebook account.
If you want to save only a few information, though, you can manually save them on a word document. For photos, you can download them by clicking Options at the bottom of each photo and then choosing the Download option from the dropdown menu. Follow the prompts to start the download.
You may also want to manually delete your past actions or history such as comments you have made to ensure they are gone immediately while Facebook is still processing the deletion of your account which can take up to two weeks. You can do this via the Activity Log.
Again, click the small down arrow from the top right of the page then choose Activity Log from the dropdown menu. On the left column, you can choose from the list of posts you want to remove such as your posts, posts you’re tagged in, posts by others and posts you’ve hidden. Then manually delete each of those you want removed. You can also delete your photos, likes, pages and interests and comments.
To delete a post, just click on the small pencil icon on the right of each post and choose Delete. Do the same for your photos and comments.
If you, however, do not wish to go through those steps and immediately delete your account, you need to go to this url https://www.facebook.com/help/delete_account. This is the Facebook account deletion form which you need to fill out to inform the administrators that you want to permanently delete your account.
Enjoyed this post?
Consider using the social sharing button below to share this post on your favourite social networking sites.
By Wendy Chamberlain
Copyright 2015 Savvy Web Women Pty Ltd
WANT TO USE THIS ARTICLE?
You can as long as you include the following (links must be active):
Wendy Chamberlain is the founder of www.savvywebwomen.com and creator of the Savvy Online Engagement Blog – the information packed resource that shows business owners and entrepreneurs how to use online strategies to connect with key stakeholders, influence decision makers and be seen as a thought leader, all via the use of social media. To receive your FREE Special Report and how-to articles to expand your Online Engagement toolkit, visit www.wendymoore.net.